ECB reveal plans for a new T20 tournament

English cricket’s new Twenty20 city-based tournament moved a step closer as the ECB released details about the new competition.

The overview of proposed plans which will see the tournament start from 2020, include:

  • Eight teams (potential teams below)
    • North London
    • South London
    • West (Cardiff, Bristol, Taunton)
    • Red Rose (Old Trafford)
    • White Rose (Headingley)
    • Birmingham
    • Trent Bridge
    • South (Rose Bowl, Hampshire)
  • 36 games will be played over 38-day summer windows with each team having four home games
  • All games will be televised
  • This is a separate tournament from the T20 Blast and will not overlap or replace it
  • IPL style play-off system
  • Player’s draft with total of 15 including three overseas players
  • Guaranteed £1. 3M income for counties


Each team will have a squad of 15 players, with a maximum of three overseas players. All teams will get an allocated pot of money to spend on players and coaching staff who will be all be run by a general manager of the team’s choice.

From the 15-man squad, 13 players will be picked via draft with two additional two wildcards picks.

Test matches will also be scheduled during that period, potentially preventing several England stars from participating in the new T20 competition.

The ECB have also stated their intention for a number of matches to be aired on free-to-air television and are rumoured to be negotiating with the BBC.

If the current proposals are backed by at least 31 members out of the 41 then the tournament will look to begin in 2020.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s